SUPL: Gaddafi edge Mbarara City to register their maiden away win

Gaddafi earned their first away win this term after a 1-0 victory against ‘wasteful’ Mbarara City FC in the StarTimes Uganda Premier League at Kakyeka Stadium on Wednesday.

In the 18th minute, Paul Musamali won possession who passed to Faizal Muwawu, the forward tapped a cut pass to forward Amos Kirya who sent a measured shot beyond Muhammad Sekebba into the right of the goal.

Four minutes later, Peter Onen was forced to make a change as injured custodian Ronald Mutebi limped off the pitch to be replaced by Paul Mujampwani.

Mbarara nearly leveled matters through Seiri Arigumaho but his tap in off Steven Othieno’s low cross was timely blocked by defender Sula Mpanga for a corner.

With a minute to end the first half, Muwawu sent a good pass in the area before Sekebba intercepted in a full stretch save before Otieno acrobatically cleared it away from danger.

Mbarara continued to ask more questions through Seiri who arrowed a powerful shot on goal from outside the box but Mujapwani punched it out for a corner kick.

After recess, Gaddafi made a double change introducing Frank Mulimi and Davis Bukomba for Ronald Bithum and Brian Kalumba respectively.

At the top of the hour, Henry Kitegenyi and Pistis Barenge paved way for Kalule and Ivan Otude respectively in Mbarara’s double change.

In the 70th minute, Solomon Okwalinga hit a long-range freekick on the target and Mujampwani parried it away in a reflex save to keep the score intact.

In the 78th minute, Otieno’s diving header was cleared off the line by Bakali Magumba as Gaddafi continued to live dangerously.

The victory carried Gaddafi to the ninth position with 17 points while Mbarara sit 11th on the 16-team log after 13 games played.

In the next games, Gaddafi will host URA at Gaddafi Arena on Tuesday, January 4 while Mbarara will visit KCCA at MTN Omondi Stadium, Lugogo on Wednesday.

How they lined up:

Gaddafi FC XI: Muhammad Sekebba (Gk), Jasper Aheebwe, Steven Otieno, Soulymane Bamba, Ramathan Karim, Pistis Barange, Swalik Bebe, Solomon Okwalinga, Jude Ssemugabi, Seiri Arigumaho, Henry Kitegenyi.

Gaddafi XI: Ronald Mutebi (Gk), Sula Mpanga, Paul Musamali, Bakali Magumba, Buchochera Karenzi, Franco Onen, Amos Kirya, Yunus Sibira, Faisal Muwawu, Ronald Bithum, Brian Kalumba

About The Author

Gateway News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *