Masaza Cup 2021: Buddu edge Kyadondo to join Buwekula in the semifinals

Buddy Saza became the second team to secure a semifinal spot after a 2-1 narrow victory against Kyadondo in the ongoing Masaza Cup at Njeru on Monday evening.

Geoffrey Gaganga gave Buddu a halftime lead before Bruno Bunyaga extended their lead in the second stanza.

Midfielder Patrick Oyeeti scored a consolation goal for Kyadondo but it was not enough to keep them in the tournament.

In the fifth minute of the game, Gideon Odongo peeled away from the marker before he laid a low cross in the area but Bruno Bunyaga’s tap sailed away.

Fifteen minutes later, pacy winger Marvin Kavuma sent a good cross in the box but Bunyaga’s header missed the target by inches.

Bruno Bunyaga (Blue) peels away from defender Fred Ntambi (Black) | ©️David Isabirye

Kyadondo was on the front foot through Sadat Mulindwa who engineered a counter-attack before he released a shot and Buddu’s custodian Micheal Lutaaya punched it away for a corner kick.

With only three minutes to end the first stanza, Geofrey Gaganga simply nodded home Haruna Lukwago’s good cross from the right flank.

On the return of the second stanza, Kyadondo introduced forward Aldrine Kambale for defender Fred Ntambi as they continued to look for a leveler.

In the 65th minute, forward Brian Omirambe came on for Marvin Kavuma while Kyadondo introduced Bbosa Kamada for Sadat Mulindwa.

Ten minutes later, agile forward Bunyaga placed his name on the scoreboard after missing several chances which took his tournament tally to five.

With five minutes to the end of normal time, Patrick Oyeeti tapped home Yuda Ddumba’s dropping free-kick to pull back one for Kyadondo

The result meant that Buddu will join Buwekula in the last four of the ongoing prestigious tournament.

How they lined up:

Buddu XI: Micheal Lutaya (Gk), Haruna Lukwago, Gideon Odongo, Jonathan Oluka, Abdallah Ssentongo, Fahad Nsaba, Geofrey Gaganga, Bruno Bunyaga, Marvin Kavuma, Sharifu Ssengendo, Isma Lamitara

Kyadondo XI: Enock Kibuuka, Yuda Ddumba, Isaac Ssenyunjja, Christopher Tebanddeke, Fred Ntabi, Patrick Oyeeti, Kizza Kiwatule, Donald Wafula, Simon Kizito, Ivan Nyombi, Sadat Mulindwa.

About The Author

Gateway News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *