WAFCON 2022: Banyana Banyana white-wash Burundi to storm quarters

Thembi Kgatlana, Amogelang Motau and Linda MotIhalo were on the scoresheet as Banyana Banyana white-washed Burundi to storm the quarterfinals of the 2022 Women’s African Cup of Nations.

Burundi’s only strike came through Aniella Awimana but it was not enough to give her country anything from the entertaining contest.

South Africa set a high tempo in the game searching for a quick goal against a young and sprinted Burundi side.

2018 WAFCON top scorer, Thembi Kgatlana placed the ball in the back of the net to give South Africa a lead as well as open her campaign account.

Ten minutes later, Sandrine Niyonkuru rounded off two defenders before he laid an acute cross that was tapped home by Aniella Awimana to level matters.

Banyana Banyana celebrating a goal | CAF Photo

Burundi’s joy was cut short after Amogelang Motau restored Banyana Banyana’s lead through a powerful shot after a scuffle in the area.

Kgatlana made a swift attack to beat Burundi’s backline that froze in an offside trap but she was selfish and wasted a cut clear chance to extend South Africa’s lead.

As the first stanza was looming, Jermaine Seoposenwe was fouled in the area by Asha Djafari but custodian Jeanine Irakoze palmed away the challenge.

Eight minutes into the second stanza, Irakoze fouled entrant Linda MotIhalo resulting into a penalty for South Africa and the forward perfectly converted from 12 yards.

Moments later, South Africa wasted another chance after Motlhalo dodged everyone including the custodian but her effort went off target.

In the 72nd minute, Annociate Nshimirimana was given matching orders after fouling Seoposenwe which brought Burundi to ten players.

The result meant South Africa register their second win in as much games played hence being the first to team to qualify for the next stage from group C.

How they lined up

South Africa XI: Andile Dlamini (Gk), Lebohang Ramalepe, Bongeka Gamede, Noko Matlou, Karabo Dhlamini, Noxolo Cesane, Thembi Kgatlana, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Refiloe Jane, Robyn Moodaly, Amogelang

Burundi XI: Jeanine Irakoze (Gk), Charlote Irankunda, Diane Irakunda, Aniella Uwimana, Sandrine Niyonkuru, Djafari Asha, Cheilla Ineza, Rachelle Bukuru, Djazila Uwineza, Saffira Guinand, Peace Niyomungere

About The Author

Gateway News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *