SUPL: URA Welcome Busoga United At Kakindu With A Baptism Of Fire

URA FC registered a 3-1 victory against Busoga United who were playing their first Star Times Premier League game this season at Kakindu Stadium, Jinja.

The Tax Collectors were fierce and treated the hosts to a baptism of fire hence ruling the game right from the first stanza till the end.

Busoga United found a clinical chance to take lead through captain Anthony Mayanja but he failed to settle Shaka Ssozi’s short pass in the area.

The hosts grew in composure and confidence, commanding lots of possession but failed to harvest something from continuous attacks towards URA’s goal.

In the 30th minute, Steven Desse Mukwala rose highest to node home Arafat Galiwango’s cross from the left wing to silence the home crowds.

With three minutes to end the first stanza, Hudu Mulikyi ignited a counter attack before Ibrahim Dada crossed the ball in the area and Mukwala comfortably headed it home to extend URA’s lead.

In the 51st minute, Busoga we’re awarded a penalty and Anwaru Ntege placed the ball past Alionzi Nafian to pull back one for the host.

Minutes later Viane Ssekajugo’s effort parried off the cross bar after the winger staging great technique.

Mukwala was close to registering a Patrick but the headed effort went wide by inches.

In the 75th minute, second half substitute Ivan Sserubiri neatly curled home from a freekick to emphatically place URA in the driving seat.

The result sent the Tax Collectors in the third position with 28 points while Busoga descended to the 15th position with 11 points from 15 games played.

In the next fixtures, Busoga will host Mbarara City at Kakindu Stadium while on Tuesday February 8 while URA will make a short trip to KCCA FC at MTN Omondi Stadium on Wednesday.

How they lined up

URA FC XI: Alionzi Nafian (Gk), Ronald Kigongo, Arafat Galiwango, Fesali Najib, Hudu Mulikyi, Patrick Mbowa, Said Kyeyune, John Kolas Alou, Vianne Sekajugo, Steven Mukwala, Dada Ibrahim

Bright Stars FC XI: Oyo Delton (Gk), Fedrick Ngalo, George William Kalyowa, Hassan Kintu, Elvis Ngonde, Derrick Basoga, Laban Tibita, Anthony Mayanja, Isaac Wagoina, Shaka Ssozi, Anwaaru Mustafa

About The Author

Gateway News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *