Sentamu returns to fold as Micho summons CHAN Provisional Squad

Vipers SC forward, Yunus Sentamu is part of the 40 players summoned in the CHAN Provisional Squad.

Sentamu was left out of the Uganda Cranes squad that played the 2023 AFCON Qualifiers against Algeria and Niger.

It is still uncertain the extract reason behind his elimination from the squad after his splendid show in the 2021/22 campaign. However, it’s now great news to the Cranes fans that the Kasese-born striker is back to serve his nation.

Uganda Cranes head coach, Milton “Micho” Sredojevic expects players to be in camp by July 25, 2022, to kick start preparations.

Vipers forward, Abdul Lumala and KCCA midfielder Moses Waiswa who have just returned to the nation in the ongoing transfer window are also part of the squad.

The other surprise call is Viper’s midfielder Siraje Sentamu whose name has always been discussed as one that should be part of the National fold.

“Players are still in the off-season and that explains why we need to start preparing early. We shall have to break arrangements in three aspects including fitness, match situation and competitive phase,” Micho was quoted by FUFA Website.

Uganda Cranes will be facing the winner between Somalia and Tanzania between August 27 to September 3.

The later winner will represent the CECAFA zone in the final CHAN tournament slated for January 2023 in Algeria.

Provisional Squad

Nafian Alionzi (URA FC), Richard Anyama (Arua Hill SC), Emmanuel Kalyowa (BUL FC), Denis Otim (Express FC), Mathias Muwanga (Onduparaka FC)

Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Livingstone Mulondo (Vipers SC), Najib Fesali (URA FC), Joseph Bright Vuni (Arua Hill SC), Kenneth Ssemakula (SC Villa), John Revita (KCCA FC), Walter Ochora (BUL FC), Gavin Kizito Mugweri (SC Villa), James Begisa (URA FC), Hillary Onek (BUL FC), Brian Mato (Proline FC), Ibrahim Juma (KCCA FC), Derrick Ndahiro (URA FC), Disan Galiwango (Vipers SC), George Kaddu (Wakiso Giants FC)

Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC), Marvin Youngman (Vipers SC), Siraje Ssentamu (Vipers SC), George Kasonko (BUL FC), Titus Ssematimba(Wakiso Giants FC), Saidi Kyeyune (URA FC), Simon Peter Oketch (BUL FC), Moses Waiswa (KCCA FC)

Milton Karisa (Vipers SC), Abdu Lumala (Vipers SC), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa), Rogers Mato (KCCA FC), Moses Aliro (Wakiso Giants FC), Najib Yiga (Vipers SC), Martin Kizza (Express FC), Rashid Kawawa (Arua Hill SC), Muhammad Shaban(Onduparaka FC), Yunus Ssentamu (Vipers SC), Richard Basangwa (Gaddafi FC), Oscar Mawa (SC Villa)

Featured Photo credited to Swift Sports UG

About The Author

Gateway News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *