Masaza Cup 2021: Buddu join Buwekula in the finals

Buddu joined Buwekula in the finals of the ongoing 2021 Buganda Masaza Cup after registering a 3-1 penalty shoot-out victory at Njeru on Thursday evening.

The game ended in a goalless draw and it was only penalties that would separate the two sides the staged a mouthwatering encounter.

In the 14th minute, Fahad Nsamba pulled off a powerful shot put Bulemeezi’s custodian Tonny Atugoza made equally a spectacular save to palm away the effort before the defender cleared it away for a corner.

Eight minutes, Bruno Bunyaga’s header off Rodgers Ssebyondya’s miscalculated clearance was well collected by Atugoza to miss a seater at close range.

Moments later, Bunyaga rose highest to nod Marvin Kavuma’s good corner kick but the effort missed the target by inches.

In the 57th minute, forward Hakiramu Muzanyi laid a low hard cross in the penalty area but Bulemeezi players were slow to make contact to the good delivery.

As the game grew, Bulemeezi grew in spirit and continuously asked Buddu’s defensive line several questions to answer.

The game was cagey and tight since both sides closely contested each other leading to several tackles collisions in the middle of the park from either side.

At the death of the game, Bulemeezi midfielder Sulaimani Ssesaazi nearly carried it away through a long-range shot but Buddu’s custodian Micheal Lutaaya parried away for a corner kick.

By the end of normal time, the game was still tied in a goalless draw and center referee Henry Musisi sent both sides in a spot-kicks.

Sulaiman Ssesaazi scored the only penalty spot for Bulemeezi while Benaldo Kateregga, Calvin Emayu, and Douglas Lule Kizza missed converting from 12 yards

Fahad Nsamba, Haruna Lukwago, and Brian Omirambe converted from the spot while Vianney Bukenya’s penalty was saved by Atugonza.

How they lined up

Buddu XI: Micheal Lutaya (Gk), Haruna Lukwago, Gideon Odongo, Jonathan Oluka, Abdallah Ssentongo, Fahad Nsamba, Isma Lamitara, Geofrey Gaganga, Bruno Bunyaga, Marvin Kavuma, Sharifu Ssengendo

Bulemeezi XI Tonny Atugonza, Rodgers Ssebyondya, Douglas Lule Kizza, Mahad Kabogoza, Godfrey Arijole, Sulaimani Ssesaazi, Gabriel Eragu, Simon Katumba, Hakiramu Muzanyi, Sharif Nsereko, John Ben Nakibinge

About The Author

Gateway News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *