BUL shock Vipers to win the Uganda Cup in style

Sunday June 12, 2022 (Results)

Vipers SC 1-3 BUL FC

The oil manufacturers fried the Venoms in the finals of the Stanbic Uganda Cup Finals at King George Stadium, Masindi.

After being ashamed to an 8-1 punishing, BUL completed the well deserved revenge as they beat the Uganda Premier League champion 3-0 in an entertaining encounter.

Alex Isabirye’s charges looked the most well organised side as they guarded their goal and made timely attacks to white wash the so called “Big Boys.”

Yunus Sentamu failed to slot the ball in the net to complete a stellar attack after six minutes played.

In the 28th minute, towering forward Karim Ndugwa climbed highest to node home Reagan Kalyowa’s great delivery.

Vipers had a chance to level matters but Ceser Manzoki’s effort was skied way and wide inside the area.

BUL FC made a counter attack off Vipers corner kick which was finished by Simon Peter Oketch with a sublime diving header off Hillary Onek’s low cross from the left.

Seven minutes into the second stanza, Oketch went passed Musa in style before made a low sweet cut back that was placed in the corner of Vipers net by Ndugwa.

BUL’s goal scorers, Simon Peter Oketch and Karim Ndugwa

After trying on BUL’s goal for numerous occasions, Halid Lwaliwa nodded home Bright Anukani’s freekick to regain Vipers’ hope in the cagey encounter.

After 95 minutes played, BUL FC emerged the champions of the 2021/22 to dethrone Vipers SC who won it last year.

However, it should also be noticed that this was the very first trophy for in BUL’s trophy carbon since it’s start.

Tournament Awards

Top Scorer – Karim Ndugwa

Best Goalkeeper – Emmanuel Kalyowa

Best Midfielder – Simon Peter Oketch

Best Defender – Walter Ochola

How they lined up

Vipers SC XI: Denis Kiggundu (Gk), Paul Willa, Disan Galiwango, Livingstone Mulondo, Halid Lwaliwa, Siraje Sentamu, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Najib Yiga, Milton Karisa, Yunus Sentamu, Ceser Manzoki

BUL FC XI: Emmanuel Kalyowa (Gk), Walter Ochola, Richard Ayiko, Douglas Muganga, Pascal Ngobi, Jeromy Kirya, Ibrah Kazindula, Hillary Onek, Reagan Kalyowa, Simon Peter Oketch, Karim Ndugwa

About The Author

Gateway News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *