AFCON 2021: Egypt shot out Ivory Coast to reach quaterfinals

Egypt edged Ivory Coast in the 5-4 penalty shootout to storm the quarterfinals of the ongoing African Cup of Nations.

Mohamed Salah scored the winning penalty after Eric Baily was saved to send the pharaohs in the last eight of the tournament.

Ivory Coast’s Max Gradel went on an individual may run towards Egypt’s goal but Egypt’s defender Ahmed Hegazy timely blocked the effort.

Minutes later, captain Serge Aurier was brought down in the dangerous area but the centre referee Ndala Ngambo hardly showed interest in the challenge.

Attacking midfielder Omar Marmoush released a powerful effort from distance but the great effort rattled off the woodwork to keep the result intact.

Mohamed Salah nearly placed the Pharaohs in the lead but his emphatic shot towards the roof was palmed away by Ivory Coast’s custodian Badra Ali.

Ivory Coast made the first change of the game calling off Frank Kessie due to an injury to be replaced by Geoffrey Serey Die.

Sebastian Haller got a rebound from 12 yards but his low effort was punched by Mohamed El Shenawy in a master class save to clear the danger.

Mostafa Mohamed tried to beat Ali by pace but his touch went wide off the right goal post.

Wilfred Zaha placed a defence-splitting pass in search for Haller but El Shenawy rushed off the line to collect the dangerous ball

The normal time ended in a goalless draw and the centre referee sent both sides in extra time to separate the two sides.

With six minutes to finish extra time, second half Trezeguet found space in the but his resultant effort rose above the crossbar.

But both halves of the second half ended goalless and only penalties could separate the two African giants.

This was the third time when Egypt won Ivory Coast in a penalty shootout after 1998 and 2006 meetings.

Egypt will play Morocco in the quarterfinals on Saturday January 29, 2021.

About The Author

Gateway News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *