SUPL: Express FC held by Soltilo Bright Stars at home

Express FC completed the first round of the StarTimes Uganda Premier League with a 1-1 draw against Soltilo Bright Stars at Betway Muteesa II Stadium Wankulukuku.

George Senkaaba scored for the Wasswa Bbosa coached side earlier in the second half but his strike was canceled out by Omony Denis Kaka in the closing stages of the game on Friday evening.

Express FC had a chance in the 11th minute of the game when Martin Kizza struck a shot on the left side of the goal but Simon Tamale tapped it out.

Soltilo Bright Stars had their first clear chance in the 24th minute when Jungu set up Youngman Joseph but his powerful shot was tamed by Mutakubwa.

In the 38th minute, Soltilo Bright Stars had a fantastic searching pass from Kacancu to Nelson Senkatuka in the box but his effort went out for a goal kick.

Simon Tamale had a fingertip save to stop Godfrey Lwesibawa from scoring in the 53rd minute.

Express FC finally got their first goal of the game in the 58th minute when Senkaaba tapped home Eric Kambale’s goal-bound shot to put the Red Eagles in the driving seat.

In the 73rd minute, Simon Tamale had a fingertip save to deny Kambale from doubling Express’ lead.

Express’ midfielder Nicholas Kasozi was booked in the 79th minute for an altercation with the centre referee Ronald Kirangwa.

In the 83rd minute, Kasinde had a beautiful weighed in cross to Omony but his effort went inches out as Soltilo Bright Stars was searching for a leveler.

Soltilo Bright Stars finally got a leveler in the 89th minute when Omony scored late to level matters to deny Express FC a win after poor communication from Walusimbi and Mutakubwa.

A draw moved Express FC to the third position on the table with 27 points while Soltilo Bright Stars remained 13th on the log with 11 points.

How they lined up:

Express FC XI: Joel Mutakubwa (Gk), Deus Bukenya, Enoch Walusimbi, Isa Lumu, Ssekyembe, Nicholas Kasozi, Yaya Mahad, Lwesibawa, Martin Kizza, Eric Kambale, George Senkaaba

Bright Stars FC XI: Simon Tamale (Gk), Andrew Kaggwa, Simon Ssemayange, Allan Katwe, Derrick Ngobi, Fiat Celophus, Marvin Youngman, Augustine Kacancu, Methodius Jungu, Alfred Onek, Nelson Senkatuka

About The Author

Gateway News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *