CHAMPIONS : Senegal clinch maiden AFCON championship

Senegal registered a 4-2 penalty shot out victory against Egypt t clinch their maiden African Cup of Nations trophy on Sunday

Kalidou Koulibaly, Abdou Diallo, Bamba Dieng and Sadio Mane scored for the champions while Bouna Sarr’s effort was missed.

Zizou, Hamdy Marwan and Mohanad Lasheen converted for Egypt as Mohamed Abdelmonem and Mohanad Lasheen missed from 12 yards.

Egyptian defender Mohamed Abdelmonem brought down Senegalese fullback Saliou Ciss in the area and the centre referee Victor Miguel de Freitas Gomes awarded Senegal a penalty.

In the seventh minute, Sadio Mane stepped up to take the challenge 12 yards away but Egypt custodian Mohamed Abou Gabal palmed it away.

With two minutes to end the first stanza, Mohamed Salah passed through a forest of legs but his resultant effort was parried away by Senegal custodian Edouard Mendy punched it out for a cornerkick.

Minutes into the second stanza, Mane tried to find Famara Diedhou but goalkeeper Gabaski came off the line to hold the ball.

Marwan Hamdi nearly placed the Pharaohs in the lead but his headed effort went wide and off the target after beating Mendy.

The normal time ended goalless and the centre referee sent both sides in extra time.

Bamba Dieng went on a mazy run through the backline into the area but his effort at the right post was parried away by Gabaski.

With three minutes to end extra time, Egyptian midfielder Zizou collected a calm ball in the area and difected it on goal but Mendy saved matters through a spectacular save.

How they line up

Senegal XI: Edourd Mendy (Gk), Saliou Ciss, Kalidou Koulibaly, Idrissa Gana Gueye, Nampalys Mendy, Cheikou Kouyate, Sadio Mane, Ismaila Sarr, Famara Diedhiou, Bouna Sarr, Abdou Diallo

Egypt XI: Mohamed Abou Gabal (Gk), Mohamed Abdelmoneim, Amro Elsoulia, Hamdy Fathy, Emam Ashour, Mohamed Salah, Ahmed Abo Elfetouh, Mostafa Mohamed, Mahmoud Hamdy, Mohamed Elneny, Omar Marmoush

About The Author

Gateway News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *